Basic Rules and Special Situations [The Cardistry Game]

 

Rules. Rules. Rules. Honestly, I don't want to make more rules. We need guidelines, that's true, but not rules. "What to do in case this happens" type of things. And there's quite a LOT of those moments that can rise while playing The Cardistry Game.

But, let's not get ahead of ourselves. First, the basics! You can download these in the following languages: English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Romanian, Russian, Polish, Indonesian, Korean, Chinese, Hebrew and many more by following this link !

And there you have them! The basic rules along with every card in the game explained. Now that we have those figured out it's time to move unto the spicy questions!

Special Situations

In no particular order here are answers to questions that I've come across and you will at some point as well. If you meet any other situations and would like an answer to them, feel free to leave us a comment and we'll get back to you with an answer!

  • What do I do if I draw the LINK card but there's only one move card on the table?

Let's see. You have an INTERLOCK card, a HANDS UP card and you've just drawn the LINK card. What do you do? Simple. Draw another card and cover the LINK card. The LINK card only works if there are at least 2 move cards on the table.

  • What do I do if I draw the ALL FOR ONE card and there's nothing underneath it?

Draw another game card and cover the ALL FOR ONE card with it.

  • I've just drawn the RESET card and covered all piles with a new card, but now I have a LINK, DAMAGE and XCM card. What do I do?

Cover the LINK card. If when resetting you encounter a combination of cards that doesn't work, such as "Grip, Grip, Move Card" or "Damage, Damage, Hands Up" cover one of the cards in order to make the combination work. If it still doesn't work, keep drawing cards until you have a combination that works.

  • So, if I get a HANDS UP, LINK and ALL FOR ONE after the reset, which one do I cover?

You cover the All For One because that one doesn't work with no cards underneath. Afterwards, you cover the Link card as well, because that one doesn't work without at least 2 move cards on the table.

  • What happens when you have 2 Special Cards and fail one? How many cards do you remove?

- It depends. There are 3 types of Special Performance Altering Cards: Those which you can fail, those which are harder to fail and those which you fail only if you're out of ideas/time. Sounds stupid, but stick with me.

In the first category we have Clipped, On the Thumb, On the Hand. If during your performance you drop the card from the position it's supposed to be in, then you count the cards in the Clipped game card... pile. (I will say you count the cards, because I assume you know that you must count them, multiply them by 4 and then remove that many cards from the deck you are performing with). If you fail both the flourish and the challenge card (by dropping the card from its appointed position) then you only count the cards in the Special Card pile.

In the second category we have Hands Up, Behind the Back, Eyes Closed, Arms Twisted, Fingers/Elbows Touching. You fail one of these only if you open your eyes, lower your hands, stop touching your fingers etc. .

- If you have a HANDS UP, 3 PACKET CUT and GRIP on the table and you fail the cut because you've lowered your hands, then you will count how many cards are in the HANDS UP pile. But if your hands stay up and you fail the cut, you count how many cards are in the ... exactly, the 3 Packet Cut pile!

- As long as you meet the required challenge during your performance, there should be no reason to assume that you failed the card.

In the third category we have Grip and No Finger cards.

Grip: As long as you begin your move with the appointed grip, you should be good. The only way to fail this card is to never start your performance in the first place. In that case, because you haven't met the Grip card specification, you fail it. Not only that, but if you do not perform, you fail every other card on the table as well. Just saying. It's better to perform and fail than to not perform at all.

No Finger: As long as you never use the appointed finger, you should be good. If during your performance you are spotted using the finger you shouldn't but successfully execute your move, then you fail the No Finger card and count how many cards are in that pile. If you fail the flourish on top of also using your finger, then you fail both cards and you count how many cards are in both.

  • So, what happens if I have the following combo of cards: CLIPPED, ON THE HAND and 4 PACKET CUT and fail the flourish?

- If when you fail you still have a card clipped and another on the back of your hand, you count how many cards are in the 4 Packet Cut pile.

- If the card from the back of your hand falls and you also drop cards during the cut, you only count how many cards are in the ON THE HAND pile. I've covered this in the previous question as well.

- If both cards fall and you also fail the flourish, then you've failed the Special Cards and you count how many cards are in the Special Cards pile. Yep, that situation would suck indeed.

If you guys have met any other special situations, let us know and we will clarify them for you.

Love,

Biz


Share this post


Leave a comment

Note, comments must be approved before they are published